My trip to the Aviva

Last month the Republic of Ireland was playing United States of America.
It is a very small pitch when I was there comparing to when we watch it on television.
It was my second time in the Aviva.
It was my first time going to a football match.
It was a great game to watch.
I found the minutes go quicker when I was there but they say time flies when you’re having fun.
The trip to Dublin was very long and there was lots of traffic so the bus kept stopping.
Anthony Pilkington opened the scoring when a brilliant ball was played in behind the defence and Pilkington was there to slot home from a chip.
The fans were off their seats before the ball was in the net. Soon the joy ended for the Irish fans. America had scored
But that wasn’t the end of it.
The Irish didn’t give up hope because soon it was 2-1 from a good firm shot by Robbie Brady which skinned the goalkeeper’s boot and fortunately for Ireland the ball went in the net.
Then Ireland put the game beyond doubt when substitute James McLean took a shot which deflected off the defender, sending the keeper the wrong way. 3-1. Finally a last minute free kick gave Robbie Brady a second goal, bending it around the wall and in the goal. I was home at 1:00 because of traffic in Dublin.
I had a good time and for some reason when I got home I was wide awake.
Edward
4th class

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

